My blog has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 6 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Tuesday, May 12, 2009

Former UGA Coaches Honored

From UGA Athletics releases...

The Paul Bear Bryant Awards committee of the American Heart Association has announced that former University of Georgia Head Coach and Athletic Director, Vince Dooley has been named the 2010 recipient of its’ Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dooley will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Paul Bear Bryant College Football Coaching Awards Dinner Thursday, Jan. 14, 2010 at the Omni Houston Hotel. The award recognizes excellence in coaching on and off the field during a career, allowing recipients to take their place in history alongside legends such as Bryant. Recent Lifetime Achievement recipients include Barry Switzer, Tom Osborne, and Glenn “Bo” Schembechler.


Archie Manning, chairman of The National Football Foundation College Hall of Fame (NFF), announced today the 2009 Divisional Hall of Fame Class, which considers players and coaches from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision (formerly I-AA), Divisions II, III, and the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) for induction.

This year's class will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame during the Enshrinement Festival, July 18-19, in South Bend, Ind. The class includes:

· ROGER BROWN - Maryland- Eastern Shore, DT (1956-59)
· FRED DEAN - Louisiana Tech, DT (1971-74)
· SAM MILLS* - Montclair State (N.J.), LB (1977-80)
· ROD SMITH - Missouri Southern State, WR (1988, 1990-93)
· VOLNEY ASHFORD* - 197-55-12 (.769); Missouri Valley (Mo.) (1937-71)
· JIM DONNAN - 104-40-0 (.722); Marshall (1990-95), Georgia (1996-2000)

"We are very proud to announce the 2009 Divisional Class of Hall of Famers," said Manning, a 1989 Hall of Fame inductee from Ole Miss. "Each of these men have defined excellence in our sport, and we are happy to reward their respective careers by inducting them in college football's ultimate shrine."

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

putting a coach in to a hall of fame with just over 100 wins seems like it is setting the bar too low....his winning % is very good but most of that was compiled at Marshall before they stepped up their competition level. I think someone needs to have been a head coach for at least 10 yrs to be eligible.