My blog has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 6 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Thursday, July 16, 2009

UGA Lands 9 on Preseason SEC Teams

From SEC release...

Defending SEC and national champion Florida Gators had a league-high 16 representatives on the 2008 All-Southeastern Conference Coaches’ Football Team, while LSU had 10 total selections and defending Western Division Champion Alabama and Georgia had nine each, the league office announced on Thursday.

Florida led the way with eight players selected on the first team while Alabama had six and LSU had three.

Nine of the 12 SEC schools had a member on the first-team All-SEC squad. Each SEC school had at least two student-athletes on either the first-, second- or third-team.

Ole Miss and Tennessee had seven total members on the squads, while Kentucky had six, Vanderbilt five, South Carolina and Arkansas four each, Auburn three and Mississippi State two.

There were only three unanimous selections to this year’s All-SEC pre-season squad – LSU offensive lineman Ciron Black, Alabama wide receiver Julio Jones and Tennessee defensive back Eric Berry. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players, thus a unanimous selection earns 11 of 12 first-team votes.

There are 10 first-team pre-season selections that were on last year’s first-team coaches All-SEC post-season team. Those include: QB Tim Tebow (Florida), RB Charles Scott (LSU), RS Brandon James (Florida), DL Terrence Cody (Alabama), LB Rolando McClain (Alabama), LB Brandon Spikes (Florida), LB Rennie Curran (Georgia), LB Eric Norwood (South Carolina), DB Eric Berry (Tennessee) and DB Trevard Lindley (Kentucky).

The All-SEC first-team squad had 15 seniors and 10 underclassmen, including eight juniors and two sophomores. The second-team had 18 seniors, seven juniors and three sophomores. The third-team had 16 seniors, eight juniors and five sophomores.


First-Team Offense

Pos. Name, Team
TE Richard Dickson, LSU
*OL Ciron Black, LSU
OL Mike Johnson, Alabama
OL Mike Pouncey, Florida
OL John Jerry, Ole Miss
C Maurkice Pouncey, Florida
*WR Julio Jones, Alabama
WR A.J. Green, Georgia
QB Tim Tebow, Florida
RB Michael Smith, Arkansas
RB Charles Scott, LSU

Second-Team Offense

Pos. Name, Team
TE D.J. Williams, Arkansas
OL Lee Ziemba, Auburn
OL Clint Boling, Georgia
#OL Chris Scott, Tennessee
#OL Carl Johnson, Florida
#OL Cordy Glenn, Georgia
C Josh McNeil, Tennessee
WR Brandon LaFell, LSU
WR Dexter McCluster, Ole Miss
QB Jevan Snead, Ole Miss
RB Anthony Dixon, Mississippi State
RB Jeff Demps, Florida

Third-Team Offense

Pos. Name, Team
TE Aaron Hernandez, Florida
OL Jacques McClendon, Tennessee
OL Zipp Duncan, Kentucky
OL Mitch Petrus, Arkansas
OL Trinton Sturdivant, Georgia
C Jorge Gonzalez, Kentucky
WR Shay Hodge, Ole Miss
#WR Terrance Tolliver, LSU
#WR Gerald Jones, Tennessee
#QB Stephen Garcia, South Carolina
#QB Mike Hartline, Kentucky
RB Mark Ingram, Alabama
RB Ben Tate, Auburn

First-Team Defense

Pos. Name, Team
DL Terrence Cody, Alabama
DL Greg Hardy, Ole Miss
DL Carlos Dunlap, Florida
LB Rolando McClain, Alabama
LB Brandon Spikes, Florida
LB Rennie Curran, Georgia
LB Eric Norwood, South Carolina
*DB Eric Berry, Tennessee
DB Javier Arenas, Alabama
DB Trevard Lindley, Kentucky
DB Joe Haden, Florida

Second-Team Defense

Pos. Name, Team
DL Charles Alexander, LSU
DL Antonio Coleman, Auburn
#DL Geno Atkins, Georgia
#DL Dan Williams, Tennessee
#DL Malcolm Sheppard, Arkansas
LB Micah Johnson, Kentucky
LB Patrick Benoist, Vanderbilt
LB Rico McCoy, Tennessee
LB Dont’a Hightower, Alabama
DB Ahmad Black, Florida
DB Chad Jones, LSU
DB Prince Miller, Georgia
DB Myron Lewis, Vanderbilt

Third-Team Defense

Pos. Name, Team
DL Jeff Owens, Georgia
DL Marcus Tillman, Ole Miss
#DL Rahim Alem, LSU
#DL Corey Peters, Kentucky
LB Chris Marve, Vanderbilt
LB Jamar Chaney, Mississippi State
LB Ryan Stamper, Florida
LB Perry Riley, LSU
DB Major Wright, Florida
DB Janoris Jenkins, Florida
#DB Ryan Hamilton, Vanderbilt
#DB Chris Culliver, South Carolina
#DB Reshad Jones, Georgia

First-Team Specialists

Pos. Name, Team
PK Leigh Tiffin, Alabama
P Chas Henry, Florida
RS Brandon James, Florida

Second-Team Specialists

Pos. Name, Team
PK Jonathan Phillips, Florida
P Brett Upson, Vanderbilt
RS Javier Arenas, Alabama

Third-Team Specialists

Pos. Name, Team
PK Joshua Shene, Ole Miss
P Spencer Lanning, South Carolina
RS Trindon Holliday, LSU

* - Unanimous Selections
# - Ties

1 comment:

Clint said...

Tebow wasn't an unanimous pick? Also, how is Julio Jones unanimous and AJ isn't?