My blog has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 6 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Thursday, October 30, 2008

Zeier, Washington Added to Ga-Fla HOF

From UGA Athletics:

Former University of Georgia stars Gene Washington and Eric Zeier will be inducted in to the Georgia-Florida Hall of Fame Friday in Jacksonville.

In recognition of the nation's premier collegiate rivalry, the Jacksonville Sports and Entertainment Board created the Georgia-Florida Hall of Fame in 1996 to acknowledge the many great records, performances, career highlights and outstanding memories that have made the Georgia-Florida game one of college football's great traditions. Since Jacksonville became home for the annual Georgia-Florida game in 1933, the tradition and competition have grown between these two programs.

Since 1996, the Hall of Fame has added outstanding individuals from both schools for their roles in making the Georgia-Florida Football Classic the storied match that it is today. The Georgia-Florida Hall of Fame Class of 2008 consists of two former Bulldogs and two former Gators:

Gene Washington, University of Georgia

Gene Washington played for UGA from 1973-1976. He is well known for scoring on an 80-yard pass from tight end Richard Appleby during the final minutes of the 1975 game versus Florida to lead the Bulldogs to a 10-7 victory. Washington's record against Florida was 3-1. He was a part of Georgia's 1976 SEC Championship team that went 10-2. He was a ninth round pick of the San Diego Chargers in 1977.

Eric Zeier, University of Georgia

When his collegiate career ended in 1994, All-American Eric Zeier was only the third quarterback in NCAA Division I history to have thrown for more than 11,000 yards, and he held the SEC record with 11,153. In the 1993 Florida game, he was 36-for-65 for 386 yards but the Bulldog comeback fell short 33-26. Overall, he threw for 1,077 yards in four games against the Gators. He was a third round pick of the Cleveland Browns in 1995.

Willie Jackson Jr., University of Florida

Willie Jackson, Jr. was a third round pick of the Dallas Cowboys in 1994. Jackson became only the second player in UF history to have 50 or more catches and 700 yards in receiving in two consecutive seasons. Jackson was 4-0 versus Georgia from 1990-93. He led or tied the lead for receptions in each game he played against Georgia during his career with the Gators.

Fred Taylor, University of Florida

Fred Taylor was a member of the Gators 1996 national championship team and was the Jacksonville Jaguars first round draft selection in 1998. He tied a school record in 1997 when he joined Emmitt Smith as the only running backs in UF history to open a season with five straight 100-yard rushing games.

Current Georgia-Florida Hall of Fame Members (Year Inducted)

University of Georgia
Richard Appleby (1999), Buck Belue (1996), Charley Britt (2001), Kevin Butler (2003), Wally Butts (1998), Mike Cavan (2000), Vince Dooley (1996), Robert Edwards (2001), Bob Etter (2002), Ray Goff (2002), Cy Grant (2005), Rodney Hampton (2006), Terry Hoage (1997), Dan Magill (2007), Kevin McLee (2005), Larry Munson (2004), George Patton (2003), John Rauch (2000), Matt Robinson (1999), Erk Russell (2004), Jake Scott (1998), Lindsay Scott (1997), Frank Sinkwich (1996), Bill Stanfill (1998), Tommy Thurson (1998), Charlie Trippi (1998), Herschel Walker (1996), Tim Worley (2007).

University of Florida
Reidel Anthony (2004), Carlos Alvarez (1999), Kerwin Bell (1996), Howell Boney (2000), Joe Brodsky (2000), Norm Carlson (2002), Rick Casares (1998), Wes Chandler (2004), Chris Doering (2001), Jimmy Dunn (1999), Larry Dupree (1998), Jeremy Foley (2005), Don Gaffney (2005), Ray Graves (1996), Galen Hall (2007), Ike Hilliard (2006), Charles Hunsinger (1998), Doug Johnson (2007), Charles LaPradd (1998), Buford Long (2003), Shane Matthews (1996), Lee McGriff(2006), Ricky Nattiel (2002), John Reaves (2001), Errict Rhett (2003), Steve Spurrier (1996), Richard Trapp (1998), Danny Wuerffel (1997), Jack Youngblood (1997).

No comments: