My blog has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 6 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Monday, December 6, 2010

Houston named first-team All-SEC

Georgia’s Justin Houston was rewarded for his big season on Monday, being named to the Associated Press All-SEC first team.

Houston was the only Georgia player named to the first team. Four Bulldogs were named to the second team: WR A.J. Green, T Clint Boling, LB Akeem Dent and K Blair Walsh.

The awards were dominated by the two teams that appeared in Saturday’s SEC championship team:

- Auburn quarterback Cam Newton was named offensive player of the year, tackle Nick Fairley was defensive player of the year, and Gene Chizik was coach of the year.

- South Carolina tailback Marcus Lattimore was freshman of the year.

Newton and Lattimore were unanimous selections. There were eight players named on every first-team ballot: Newton, Fairley and Lattimore, Auburn OL Lee Ziemba, Arkansas TE D.J. Williams, and three LSU stars: DT Drake Nevis, CB Patrick Peterson and K Josh Jasper.

Here’s the full list:


QB: Cam Newton, Auburn
RB: Marcus Lattmiore, South Carolina
RB: Knile Davis, Arkansas
WR: Alshon Jeffery, South Carolina
WR: Julio Jones, Alabama
TE: D.J. Williams, Arkansas
OL: Lee Ziemba, Auburn
OL: Derek Sherrod, Mississippi State
OL: Barrett Jones, Alabama
OL: DeMarcus Love, Arkansas
C: Ryan Pugh, Auburn
K: Josh Jasper, LSU

DE: Devin Taylor, South Carolina
DT: Nick Fairley, Auburn
DT: Drake Nevis, LSU
LB-DE: Justin Houston, Georgia
LB: Kelvin Sheppard, LSU
LB: Chris White, Mississippi State
LB: Danny Trevathan, Kentucky
CB: Patrick Peterson, LSU
CB: Janoris Jenkins, Florida
S: Ahmad Black, Florida
S: Mark Barron, Alabama
P: Chas Henry, Florida

Second team
WR: Randall Cobb, Kentucky
WR: A.J. Green, Georgia
L: Byron Isom, Auburn
L: Larry Warford, Kentucky
L: Joseph Barksdale, LSU
L: Clint Boling, Georgia
L: James Carpenter, Alabama
L: Bradley Sowell, Mississippi
C: Mike Pouncey, Florida
TE: Brandon Barden, Vanderbilt
QB: Ryan Mallett, Arkansas
RB: Stevan Ridley, LSU
RB: Mark Ingram, Alabama
K: Blair Walsh, Georgia
All-purpose: Patrick Peterson, LSU


T: Marcell Dareus, Alabama
T: Malik Jackson, Tennessee
E: Jake Bequette, Arkansas
E: Antoine Carter, Auburn
LB: Josh Bynes, Auburn
LB: Akeem Dent, Georgia
LB: Don’t’a Hightower, Alabama
CB: Morris Claiborne, LSU
CB: Stephon Gilmore, South Carolina
CB: Casey Hayward, Vanderbilt
CB: Prentiss Waggner, Tennessee
S: Robert Lester, Alabama
S: Tramain Thomas, Arkansas
P: Tyler Campbell, Mississippi

Honorable mentions
RB Vick Ballard, Mississippi State; RB Brandon Bolden, Mississippi, QB Greg McElroy, Alabama; RB Tauren Poole, Tennessee; C William Vlachos, Alabama; LB Jonathan Cornell, Mississippi; S Zac Etheridge, Auburn.

The team was selected by a regional panel of a dozen reporters and broadcasters. Yours truly was one of them, and my ballot was posted earlier in the blog.


Anonymous said...

Aaron Murray not even a honorable mention. I blame you.

Keese said...

Gene Chizick coach of the year...give me a break. Isn't his background as a defensive coach? AU's defense is atrocious.

Malzahn should get it. Or Mullen

blah! said...

Groupthink at its finest

Marcus said...

Tons of BCS National Championship Tickets are still for sale on iticketbid! Check them out and while you are they check out other auctions such as a 32 Gb Apple Ipad, Ipod Touch, and plenty of gift cards!

Use the promotion code MNABORS for 5 free bids on

If you want to keep in touch with Dawg deals follow me at iticketbidUGA on twitter and Iticketbid Georgia Bulldogs on Facebook!

Anonymous said...

Where's the love for Justin Houston? He was one of only 5 finalists for the Bronco Nagurski Award which recognizes the top Defensive Player in the country. We obviously need more "Justins" on our team. Publicizing his achievement will help with recruiting.